Constellation PDP

Archaeologies of the Unseen

Things I have learnt in the lecture:

This term I got totally different feeling to the last one, I thought this is more interesting also is something I want to know about, but at the same time I found out there are somethings quite deep for me, maybe because english is not my first language also before the constellation I didn’t have anything concept and idea of what is it about so some of the points and things didn’t get very well or sometimes I have to use more time to understand. However, something I feel good is how the lecture works, before we start we were told asking questions better than just know the answer, this is quite similar to my first constellation both of them encourage students to ask but not only giving the answer and through reading, doing, listening and thinking to find out the answers. In the lecture we had quite a lot of activities and practices to do which were really help to understand and is a fun way to learn for the two hours lecture, also in the class some people always had lots of good questions and that’s where I learnt more things from. 

And on the above are some of the exercises that we did in class from left to right is make a thing of the materials that we had been given also with listen to music, the second and the third are quite similar and it is about drew one thing on the table and drawing another same thing with the paper which was holding up on the air by someone. The reason for doing this is he wants people to feel how difficult, and the difference between them. The last is my favourite activity that is about drawing with feeling, picked an object without looking and draw the thing as what you can feel in your hand. This task was really fun because it is very difficult task to draw thing by feeling, and after finished the drawing we had to guess what colour should be of that object as well and honestly it is really hard to guess especially you don’t know what the thing is and also every object can be any colour, a big challenge for our imagination.

Things connected to my subject:

I am studying graphic communication so most of the things we design is to communicate to people, such as poster, books, animation and banner etc. There are many things we do and all of them are about telling story and most of our works are digital all working with the laptop so there are not many chance for us to feel. But turn the way round we can let people feel in drawings, like one of the popular thing we always read which is comic books.

Those are the simple example about senses that I drew, on the left is a flower smells good and on the right is someone shouting by using the loudspeaker, and we can let people feel through this way.

Screen Shot 2015-12-29 at 10.49.01 pm
This is the draft that for my animation project

So that practice and lecture are really helpful (especially the people who study graphic or illustration).

Ideas & The resources of the essay:

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 8.32.56 pm
image credit: Gorilla by Elshout

Also I really like the topic imagination, ambiguity and perception, those are very attractive, like the selective attention test which about the gorilla walk pass through a group of people who are passing the basketball, it is so surprised when someone told you the gorilla just talk pass in front of you, but you don’t even know there is a thing appear in the screen. From this we know that most of them are not pay attention very well so people is very easy to get deceived, but actually this phenomenon is always happen in our lives everyday.

Screen Shot 2016-04-14 at 8.45.32 pm.png
My Wife and My Mother-In-Law, by the cartoonist W.E. Hill

In the same lecture another thing about ambiguous is very fun as well, like the example on the right in the lecture we were asked what can we see in this picture, and for me I can see a young lady also and old lady but I am so surprised that some people can only see one of them. For me I can see both so I expect people can see it too, but in fact it is not right.

And in my essay I will talk about the Gestalt principles, and the ideas came from this theme the ambiguous images. The main thing is to discuss about how people see and think things through their eyes and brain. The main thing I am going to focus on seeing ambiguous and Illusions . And after the research I found out that is very interesting psychology theory, and I think many people will interested in it too. And about the illusion I am going to focus on optical illusion which is a common and broad phenomenon. The main idea of gestalt is about what things we see, how we see how, and how our visual perception  works, sometime our brain will doing something automatically  which we don’t realise. Gestalt and optical illusion are the phenomenon which always happen in our life, so it is good for us to know what happening with them, and to understand how does it happen due to vision relate to us every single moment. 

Plan for the future: In the future I hope we can learn more similar topic like this, psychology is very interesting and it is about to understand people behaviour and mind also explore lots of thing such as emotion,  perception, personality and brain functioning etc is a very broad area. I really like to learn new things but we have only three years in uni and that it is not a long time for who wants to learn lots of thing. Also constellation is just apart of our course but not the main subject so we do not have too many time on it. Like this year we only have two constellation and each one got only eight weeks, I hope we can have more time on it coming these two years.

At last, something that I really want to say is I don’t really understand why people didn’t want to turn up, even though you don’t like the topic or sometime you think that’s boring. My first constellation is Visual Thinking, honestly I don’t really know all the thing he told us even I went to every lecture and I don’t feel really interested on it but I still turn up, because I really want to learn things. I think we must learnt something as long as you are there, and it shows how is your attitude and respect is very important and it is a basic attitude not only to ourselves also to everyone.

Leave a Reply

